Sort By: Date | Rating

Client Reviews/Comments

63 reviews
Ellen Williamson
On Jun 03, 2014
Kurt is an amazing trainer and I loved working with him. He genuinely enjoys his job and I believe that he truly, and authentically, enjoys working with people. I think his passion and genuineness is reflected in his style or approach to training sessions. He creates fun and unique routines that never become stale or boring. He will challenge, push, and encourage but he will never yell or berate while attempting to motivate you. Simply, Kurt is incredible and probably the best trainer that I've had the opportunity to work with toward my goals.
Dora Atkins
On May 05, 2014
Kurt has been a great trainer. He is passionate, yet pushes you to your fullest potential. He knows our strengths and our weaknesses. His dedication to serve cancer patients is outstanding.He's reliable and fulfills his time commitment with our classes weekly. It doesn't matter if it's 1 person or several, he demonstrates the same amount of commitment. Since working out with him both my balance and strength has improved. I cant shout Kurt's praises enough!!!
Dora Atkins
On May 05, 2014
Kurt has been a great trainer. He is passionate, yet pushes you to your fullest potential. He knows our strengths and our weaknesses. His dedication to serve cancer patients is outstanding.He's reliable and fulfills his time commitment with our classes weekly. It doesn't matter if it's 1 person or several, he demonstrates the same amount of commitment. Since working out with him both my balance and strength has improved. I cant shout Kurt's praises enough!!!
Leah Sardone
On Apr 30, 2014
Kurt is great. He has a great sense of humor and makes exercising fun. I have some physical illness ups and downs and he modifies the movements as needed to make them work for me. I always feel like I have had a great workout when the class is over. Thanks Kurt
Julia Allen
On Apr 25, 2014
Kurt is a great trainer and all around nice guy! He excels at motivating you but also pushes you to that next level, but he also knows when to go easy on you too. I took TRX from Kurt first and his classes definitely make you see results, I decided to pick up PT and he got me to that next level - I highly recommend his PT or classes!
Eustacia Mahoney
On Apr 23, 2014
Kurt brings a sincerity to his work and interaction with clients that makes it hard not to keep coming back to training. I felt cared about and that helped to keep me motivated to care for myself by putting my health first. Kurt made training accessible and always took time to teach me and explain the benefit of whatever exercise we were doing. For me this was really important because it felt like the goal was my personal health and fitness improvement not just a dependence on more training sessions. I would recommend Kurt to any of my closest friends and family.
Becky Shanks
On Apr 18, 2014
Kurt's approach to personal fitness is fun and interesting. I enjoyed using resistance bands, weighted balls, stability benches, weighted-hula hoops and other cool "toys" during our workouts. Over the course of time, I noticed that although I was rarely sore from our sessions, my body became leaner as a result of his approach. Kurt's warm, easy-going, up-beat personality makes him a joy to work with... I highly recommend his services!
~Becky
Brenda Holley
On Apr 18, 2014
Kurt and I have been working together for about 15 months. He's very knowledgeable about the intersection of exercise, the science of fitness and the human body. Kurt is encouraging, understanding, outgoing and makes everyone very comfortable that I've seen him come in contact with. I highly applaud his personal training and his expertise in the field of fitness. If you want to work with a true professional, I recommend Kurt.
Susanne Thomas
On Apr 16, 2014
Kurt did my fitness evaluation when I first came to the gym. He was thorough with each assessment. The news was not good for me (so to speak), but Kurt was very encouraging so I decided not to despair after all! We reviewed my goals together and came to agreement easily. Though Kurt was not my trainer at the time, every time I saw him he asked how I was doing and offered me tips on nutrition as well as exercise. He seems to be the most self-disciplined individual that I have ever met, and I find that very motivating. Hands down, Kurt gets the high 5 from me. He is awesome.
Lynsi B
On Apr 15, 2014
I've been acquainted with Kurt's training techniques for close to two years now. He is an energetic, fun instructor who keeps you on your toes and mixes up routines in a way that keeps it fun and fast moving. He was also terrific about emailing exercise routines after sessions so you can continue your practice on your own time (not all of us can afford a personal trainer every time we work out and he gets that). He's encouraging and genuinely cares about your progress reaching personal goals. I adore him and would recommend him to anyone! I started training with him when I was completely out of shape, and even now in beast mode he can still challenge me.
Damien Kenney
On Apr 14, 2014
I've been training with Kurt for almost a year. He is a great trainer KA. He's given me great advice and structured a routine that gets me the results I want and enjoy. I'd recommend him to anyone serious abou their fitness goals.
Alex McHenry
On Apr 14, 2014
Kurt is the best trainer I've ever had, and he has an awesome personality. He really pushes you so you get the most out of your work out and he really works with my crazy work schedule.
Kara Ansotegui
On Apr 14, 2014
I have been training with Kurt for a couple of months, and I'm very happy with his services. I started training with Kurt when I was about 10 weeks pregnant, and really appreciate his knowledge and expertise in not only training, but in training a pregnant client. He's thoughtful and considerate, but still ensures he pushes you to work as hard as you possibly can. I would, without hesitation, recommend Kurt as a trainer.
Joyce Orr
On Apr 14, 2014
Kurt is an excellent trainer who cares about your results. I had him in TRX Core Training and as a personal trainer. He is dedicated to his "call" to help people be in the best fitness shape that they can be. He loves what he does.
Philip Shannin
On Apr 05, 2013
I have used many personal trainers over the years and Kurt is one of the best. His specialty is functional training, which has become my favorite kind of workout lately. Why you ask? Well, functional training gives you the most bang for your buck. You combine resistance and cardio at the same time, so you get the big claorie burn of cardio paired with the elevated metabolism and muscle building of resistance training. Plus the kind of movements you do translate to the real world making you better at day to day activities. I have lowered my bodyfat, built muscle, plus improved balance, agility and coordination.

Kurt will push you, but also is able to adjust for injuries and fitness levels. He can adjust on the fly to make an exericse easier or harder. I am one of the crazy ones that wants a bigger challenge, so when I ask for it to be harder, Kurt really brings it!
Anonymous
On Mar 16, 2013
Kurt Gillon is a professional trainer. I have worked with several trainers in the past and none had the dedication Kurt has to acheive set goals. He was always on time and always came prepared for my workouts. Kurt uses the most up to date training equipment and has the know how to best maximize a training session. I use the expression "you get what you pay for". Kurt's workout are outstanding so I have to say Kurt is not paid enough for the results I experienced. Highly recommended!
Leena
On Mar 04, 2013
I never had a personal trainer prior to Kurt Gillon, but one thing is for certain—he will kick your butt when you work out with him (in the best way possible). For a 27 year old female who has never worked out before, his upbeat attitude and constant encouragement is just what’s needed—I have a more positive outlook on how I approach physical activities now. His energy and enthusiasm is contagious—everyone has no choice but to love the guy. Kurt’s really good about understanding a person’s fitness level and making sure that you push yourself everyday. ~Leena P.
Anonymous
On Mar 04, 2013
I never had a personal trainer prior to Kurt Gillon, but one thing is for certain—he will kick your butt when you work out with him (in the best way possible). For a 27 year old female who has never worked out before, his upbeat attitude and constant encouragement is just what’s needed—I have a more positive outlook on how I approach physical activities now. His energy and enthusiasm is contagious—everyone has no choice but to love the guy. Kurt’s really good about understanding a person’s fitness level and making sure that you push yourself everyday. ~Leena P.
Shelly Williams
On Dec 10, 2012
Kurt is a terrific trainer - not only does he find creative exercises, but he's got a wonderfully positive attitude. He promises results and gets them. Would recommend him to anyone who needs that extra push (or encouragement) to attain their goals.
Lee T
On Oct 24, 2012
I've been training with Kurt for about five months now. I started taking his TRX classes and recently began training with him individually. I've worked with other instructors but he has a talent for making every work out unique and fun. He brings a great attitude, extensive knowledge and all kinds of equipment to each session to keep it interesting. I'm pushed just enough and never bored. Go for it, sign up with him! —LT
Anonymous
On Aug 19, 2012
Mr.Kurt Gillion is both a good person and trainer. I feel stronger and better as a person. My fitness goals and aspirations are finally coming true. He is a nice and friendly person. Any person would be lucky to have him as a trainer. :-D
Anonymous
On Jul 18, 2012
Kurt is a fantastic trainer! He uses "found" materials in the enviroment to create a dynamic work-out. He helps to you to quickly hit all of the major muscle groups. You're practically done before you know you started, but you can feel and see the results for days afterward! ~T.T. Brown
Anonymous
On Jul 13, 2012
Kurt is an excellent trainer. Week after week he has been prepared with a creative workout designed for my needs. I would recommend his services to anyone.
Anonymous
On Jul 12, 2012
Kurt is my 1st personal trainer, so I really can't compare hime to anyone else...but I can tell you that the last three months I have been working with Kurt have been very helpful. Kurt knows how bored I get doing traditional exercises, so he's always mixing things up and making things more interesting!
Kurt is also good at monitoring my log ins (or lack there of) and giving me helpful feedback about my nutrition plan as well as non-work out days.
Charissa Yeo
On Mar 25, 2012
Man...too many things to say about this guy...Kurt was my first personal trainer, and he was the reason I considered personal training legitimate (I go to a gym where a lot of the trainers are not as professional). He's personable, professional, and so willing to help you achieve your goals. He will push you and push you, but he won't push you to hurt yourself.

His sense of humor comes out in some of the exercises he makes you do. I trained with my sister and we did some pretty silly looking stuff (and yes, he was laughing as he watched), but everything he had us do was useful and safe. What I really appreciated about Kurt is that all of his exercises are functional and are designed to help you DO things, as opposed to just building muscles that look pretty but may not be what you actually use.

Kurt is one of the most down-to-earth, generous, and fun people I've ever known. He had actually began to train me to lead one of his bootcamps (it didn't end up working out since he moved to Atlanta), and having him as a mentor was also really cool. I could tell that he absolutely saw me as a person and in no way treated me with any condescension, which is something that can be common with some people in the fitness industry.

I could talk all day about how awesome Kurt is, in terms of his personality, but really, his work alone speaks for itself. Put all together, I think he's one of the best trainers out there that anyone could work with.
Tyrelle Hobbs
On Mar 10, 2012
I had Kurt as my first personal trainer and it was a great experience. At first he showed me my limits and how if he could do something I was no different, its all about repetition. His style of training is very unorthodox, but that is what you need in order to grow. Overall great trainer and role model I highly recommend a training session from him
Bharath Srivatsa
On Mar 07, 2012
Kurt has been my trainer for over a year now. I have truely enjoyed our relationship. He is not only a good trainer, but also a great individual. His smile and positive attitude are very infectious and these indeed help me to get through the workout like a breeze!
Anonymous
On Mar 07, 2012
Kurt has been my trainer for over a year now. I have truely enjoyed our relationship. He is not only a good trainer, but also a great individual. His smile and positive attitude are very infectious and these indeed help me to get through the workout like a breeze!
Anonymous
On Mar 05, 2012
I have trained with Kurt for over a year and have found him to be a very knowledgeable and inspiring trainer. Kurt designs unique, individualized workouts to help you attain your fitness goals. I used an injury as an excuse for not working out regularly, however, Kurt adjusts workouts just for me. I have noticed an increase in my strength and stamina and I have so much more energy. Kurt knows how to push you to your limits, allowing you to reach your fitness goals. I would highly recommend Kurt to individuals at all fitness levels. ~Danielle Byrd
Jorge Cruz
On Feb 09, 2012
Kurt has been my personal trainer for over a year and he has totally changed my life. He has challenged me beyond my limits and he knows when to push my limits. I feel stronger not just physically but mentally. He has proven to me that I don't need to use heavy weights to work out. I am stronger than I ever been in my life. I have him to thank for all the encouragement he has given me in the past year.
Charmaine Thomas
On Feb 05, 2012
Kurt instructed a boot camp that I participated in when he was in Chicago. I have worked with several trainers and Kurt is who taught me more about nutrition and what works specifically for me. He pushed us to the next level without pushing us over our limits. He is a wonderful trainer!
Anonymous
On Feb 05, 2012
Kurt is one of the best trainers I know. He's knowledgeable in his profession and he's firm. I enjoyed working with him and really saw a huge difference in my weight, and I've even changed my eating habits. Thanks Kurt, for everything! Now can you guys come back to Chicago please! Tell the family Ms. Green says hi!
Chandra Rose
On Feb 01, 2012
The only thing that I can say that is negative about working with Kurt is that you can expect to be in a LOT of pain in the beginning because he will kick your butt. He was the first trainer I had ever worked with and what a difference it made to have someone there to push and encourage me through the torture of getting my body into shape. He was always positive and reassuring especially when I needed it the most. Come back to Chicago!!!!
Shanrika Hardeman
On Jan 31, 2012
Kurt has been nothing but great to me. We both train at the same facility and he has shared so much knowledge with me. His knowledge is amazing, I call him the Ol G of the gym. :-) He has been a blessing in my life not only because of his knowledge but for who he is as a person. Thanks so much for all that you do!!!
Jerome C
On Jan 28, 2012
From the first time I met Kurt, he displayed an energy and enthusiasm for learning that I knew would make him a very successful trainer. He quickly became one of the most sought after trainers in the gym. But, what makes Kurt special is his genuine care for his clients and their well-being. He always goes above and beyond to ensure what they are doing is safe and effective. He is a true professional and a great person. Jerome C.
nina radakovich
On Jan 25, 2012
I have been attending Kurt's bosu ball class at the YMCA for 6 months. He keeps up to date on all the latest training techniques and equipment. He has attracted a fiercely loyal group of regulars because of his exceptional teaching ability. Kurt makes the class fun and worthwhile for those of any age and any fitness level. Somehow he knows each individual's limit and gently pushes them to it. It is as if we each have our own personal trainer during the class. Kurt is a master at motivating. Each class is completely new and different. He varies the exercises and music so that the time just flies by. I really look forward to this twice-weekly class. Besides being terrific at what he does, Kurt is kind and caring. Yes, a drill sergeant CAN be kind and caring.
usr null
On Jan 13, 2012
Kurt was always one of the friendliest and most positive guys in the gym. I was happy to see him follow his heart and become a PT. His enthusiasm is infectious, and I'm sure he brings that to his clients. A lot of PTs are cookie-cutter types and they don't appreciate what their clients are looking for, but Kurt is the kind of guy that will listen to what you want, but also get you to go a little bit further than you thought you could. Anyone can show you proper form, but a great trainer will help you 'upstairs' as well. Kurt is one of those.
Anonymous
On Jan 12, 2012
I read the comments listed above and can only say ditto! Kurt is an exceptional trainor and person. I have enjoyed my time with him and it has made me stronger.
Anonymous
On Jan 11, 2012
Kurt is quite talented at tailoring exercises to the needs of the client. He also keeps it interesting by introducing new exercises. I highly recommend him as a personal trainer.
S. King
On Jan 11, 2012
I met Kurt about a year ago. I started out doing group aerobics with him and then personal training. I must say that I am pleased with the results. Kurt is very knowledgeable and I love the variation of the sessions. You never know what exercises to expect! Anyone looking for a professional and motivational trainer should look to Kurt. He is the best!
Jeff Alexander
On Jan 10, 2012
Kurt is the first trainer I have gone to on a regular basis, however I will continue training with him. He is understanding and in the short time I have been training with him at Workout Anytime I have noticed and drastic increase in the amount of time I am able to continue working out and power level.
Anonymous
On Jan 09, 2012
Kurt in the best trainer that I have worked with to date. Extremely knowledgeable, accommodating and motivating. Kurt was able to meet where I was in physical fitness and push me to the next level. I appreciate all of his work and to be quite honest, I wish he would move back to Chicago!
Anonymous
On Jan 09, 2012
I first met Kurt through a gym in Chicago as a personal trainer. He....was brutal. in a good way. he challenged me and my sister to work out hard, but to also to have fun. some of the exercises he had us do made us feel a little silly, but they really worked our muscles.

He's an awesome mix of fun, personable, and professional. I've even had him help me learn how to run a bootcamp myself! He's really just a great guy who is into fitness and pushing yourself to be the best you can, all around. He's not afraid of challenges, and that attitude is infectious around him.
Joan Kistner
On Jan 08, 2012
I trained with Kurt when he was located in Chicago. I am turning 60 and body training is more than just building muscle. Kurt understood the needs of a woman past menopause; core strengthening, weight bearing exercise for bone loss, flexibility, and cardiovascular needs. I highly recommend Kurt and wish he was back here in Chicago!
Jim W
On Jan 07, 2012
Kurt is not only a great trainer but a great person as well. Kurt keeps my workouts interesting & challenging by continually introducing new exercises. Kurt is able to effortlessly mix stretching, strength, balance and endurance exercises and his plans have helped me reach my personal fitness goals. I've been working-out with Kurt for a little over a year now and it's made a big difference in my overall fitness. Kurt also has a great sense of humor which helps the time go by quickly.
Anonymous
On Jan 07, 2012
Kurt is not only a great trainer, but a great person as well. He always keeps my workouts interesting & challenging by continually introducing new exercises. I've been working-out with Kurt for a little over a year now and I have seen impressive results in my overall fitness, strength and endurance. Kurt also has a great sense of humor and is adept at getting me to work a little harder in each progressive session.
Anonymous
On Jan 07, 2012
I've been associated with Workout Anytime for going on two years. I've had several trainers during this time finally ending up with the best one, Kurt. I am sixty-seven and have asthma. Kurt is alert to my breathing and lets me slow down when I need to catch my breath. At the same time, he encourages me to work hard and improve at my own best pace. He is personable, professional, and patient and pleasant to be around. I am in the best shape I've been in in my life.
Joyce Goodman
On Jan 07, 2012
I had the pleasure of presenting a program with Kurt at the Club Industry Conference in Chicago. in October, 2011. We had not met before and it was truly a joy to connect with him before our presentation via phone and email. At that time I was pleased at how easily we were able to sync our presentations.

Then, upon meeting him in person and hearing his presentation, I was so very impressed with the depth of his knowledge and expertise. His dedication to helping his clients is obvious and his manner is warm, welcoming and encouraging. I just wish I lived in Atlanta so we could collaborate more and I could take advantage of his coaching!

Joyce Goodman
Owner, Body Harmonizing Wellness Center www.bounce2health.com
Michael Henderson
On Jan 07, 2012
I've had multiple trainers over the years, and Kurt was by far the best. His creative approach was tailored perfectly to my fitness objective. We went beyond the fundamental workouts, and did things I never even thought would be effective. It's been 2 years since I've trained with Kurt, but I still incorporate his workouts into my trainings. Needless to say, Kurt is the most personable and charismatic trainers (and people) I know. Highly recommended.
Dick Awalt
On Jan 07, 2012
I am probably Kurt's oldest trainee. I am not into the body building training but in keeping my muscles relaxed, toned and supple to aid in my one exercise, golf. My goal is to shoot my age and through Kurt's persistence and training, I have come within four strokes of my goal three of the last four outings. Kurt is always professional, humorous, low-keyed and most helpful, if unforgiving, in designing and performing the exercises. My exercises have postponed surgery on my bulky knee. So, under Kurt's tutelage, I will continue to train until I reach my goal; to stay limber and one day shoot my age.
Ashley Chen
On Jan 06, 2012
I would recommend Kurt to anyone who is in need of a trainer. Kurt knows what he's talking about, and he's got the workouts to get it done. Kurt, I still use that tricep workout that you turned me on to at 24 hour fitness.
Melody Eng
On Jan 06, 2012
Kurt is one of those trainers who is really dedicated to his clients, because he genuinely cares. I remember Kurt asking me what one of my goals was....I joked, "to fit into size 4 jeans"! He looked at me with confidence and said, "Ok, that is what we are going to achieve!" Because of such confidence, I worked towards achieving the goal with him challenging me. And yes, I did achieve that goal after a few months of training with him!
Kim Cloud
On Jan 06, 2012
I'm a 48-year-old woman who has had the privilege to train with Kurt for the
last year and a half. The change he has brought about in my physical stamina is amazing! I am much stronger than I have ever been, and feel better about myself. I train with him for a half hour once a week, and he gives me workouts for one other day on my own. I can tell you the half hour just flies by, and he is entertaining to talk to, too. He never works you out to make it painful, but you definitely know you've worked out when you are done. I love him, and if he moves I guess I will just have to follow!
Anonymous
On Jan 06, 2012
Kurt was my personal trainer for six months and it was a very productive 6 mths. He pushed me and taught me how to know my body. I was very disappointed to see him leave the Chicago area. I was willing to pay for extra sessions and hold on to my fitness club membership. Kurt knows his craft well!
Anonymous
On Jan 06, 2012
Kurt is an excellent trainer, I am a weekend tennis player, and has he has helped me increase my endurance and improve my strength. I am very greatfull that I have meet Kurt, he has educated me in understanding the proper way in training.
Lillianette Cook
On Jan 06, 2012
I'm a 61 year old female and I hate exercise and everything that goes with it but I do realize that it is valuable. So I've kept coming back for a year...mainly due to Kurt and his patience for my bad attitude. I am stronger and more flexible as much as I hate to admit it. He does not pamper me but pushes me to achieve more than I think I can and I really appreciate this about him. His work ethic is exemplary and he exudes professionalism. He is the ultimate professional and an excellent trainer! I absolutely trust him as a trainer.
Danielle Goselin
On Jan 06, 2012
I have been training with Kurt at Workout Anytime for the last 7 months. This is the first time I have worked with a trainer. Kurt has been great. He is committed to making sure I reachy goal of losing weight, toning and becoming healthy. I meet with him twice a week. Kurt is great at being creative. In the past, working out had not held my attention but Kurt is always coming up with different, creative exercises. If you don't have a trainer, I HIGHLY recommend Kurt!
Nancy Bruno
On Jan 06, 2012
I have worked with other trainers, but Kurt is focused on what I need and can do. He builds up to a stretch limit that produces results and keeps it challenging. I look forward to our sessions and the wide variety of moves. Kurt closely monitors my form to get the best results from my work and to avoid injuries. He is very professional and a pleasure to work with.
Anonymous
On Jan 05, 2012
Until about 7 years ago I'd been active playing tennis,platform tennis,golf ,and gardening.Assorted phyical problems and age interfered.
Last year I got involved with Kurt and can say he has really helped me.
I turned 79 last month and ,while I'm not back to where I want to be I certainly feel much better in general.Kurt has a unique style and approach to each person's needs.His keen intelligence and insight impresses me since I'm a retired psychiatrist.He fits the mold of therapist in a true sense.His devotion to his family,to honor and ethics is testimony to his wonderful helping attitude.
Phil
GA Runner
On Jan 05, 2012
Really enjoyed the past 16 months training with Kurt. His attitude is always upbeat. His bag of exercises very large. We work the targeted areas but always in a different way. I have seen great improvement in strength and mobility. Kurt is very cognizant of your limits and knows how far to push. He shows great concern for your safety. This is especially important because I am a baby boomer. I can recommend him without reservation. Hope to continue to work with for a long time to come.
Sesika Johnson
On Jan 05, 2012
I had the pleasure, and sometimes pain, of training with Kurt. He introduced me to a wide variety of exercises that kept our training sessions exciting and exhilarating. He pushed me beyond what I thought I could do, but was very aware of how my body was reacting to the exercises. He was encouraging and professional. I'm grateful for the time I had to train with him, and should the opportunity arise, I would definitely return to train with him again.
Emmett S
On Jan 05, 2012
I have been training with Kurt twice a week for 1 1/2 years at Workout Anytime in Decatur, GA. During that period, in conjunction with Weight Watchers, I have lost nearly 60 pounds and greatly improved the arthritis in my left knee. I have lost weight before, but with the strength, core and flexibility training that Kurt has provided, people really comment on how toned and trim I appear. Kurt incorporates a lot of different techniques into each session to produce these results ... never a boring time with Kurt! He has a lot of knowledge about nutrition, training and the body in general and I know he is always careful with what he does and yet still pushes me to do more and better things. Many of his clients are seniors, as I am, and they probably would all agree with this assessment.
Anonymous
On Jan 05, 2012
I am a 62 year old female who never had a trainer before. Somewhat reluctlantly, I signed up to train with Kurt having no clue what the training was about. Kurt is wonderful! After a little over a year working with Kurt, I feel much stronger and more confident. He encourages me to try things that I would never have thought I could do and I've learned to trust him because he's right--I can do a lot of things I didn' think I could. He has build my strength and balance gradually at a steady pace. My flexibility is much improved. He has educated me about fitness and he's very professional. He's an awesome trainer!!

Add Review/Comment

 
14 + 2 =
Cancel